Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Lesson 1 ~ Introduction (Free Preview)

This is a preview lesson. Please purchase the course before starting the lesson.

Grief and loss are something that sadly, we must experience throughout life. 

Each person will experience the nuances of grief differently. Your journey and time spent grieving is entirely of your own determination. There are no rules or timelines and it is not a linear process. You may experience set backs from time to time and feel like you are stuck in various stages, even revisiting past stages at other times.

By it’s nature grief brings very strong emotions, some of which we don’t experience often. For that reason, this course aims to give you an awareness of the grief process, insights into the stages of grief most often experienced, and some help with understanding strong emotions you may experience.

If you or someone you know is experiencing grief, this course will give you the tools to assist in recovery until realisation of acceptance of the loss felt. 

Awareness and acceptance of the grief process has been demonstrated to

  • Reduce suicidality from situational distress
  • Substantially decrease reactionary activities such as acting out violence and aggression.
  • Help to regulate and manage emotions.

Understanding the Grief Process has utilised the 5 stages of grief first identified by Dr. Kubler-Ross. This method is widely accepted among therapists and clinicians as the most beneficial of all explanations to understanding the process we follow with grief.

Module 1 of this course gives an explanation to the 5 stages of grief, how this relates to relationship breakdown and how children process grief.

The second component to understanding the grief process is emotional resilience. Like all personal development, emotional resilience often comes through having experienced some form of loss or trauma.

Module 2 of this course will explore the three key strong emotions people struggle with during the grief process.


Back to: Grief, Loss and Emotions > The Grief Process